Five Star Reviews

For a long time we have advertised and rented the house successfully with Owners Direct. Regrettably they were taken over by Expedia who seem intent on world domination ...... and greed seemed to have become the name of the game from our guests perspective and ours. Bluntly it became a case of Owners Indirect and did not suit the personal approach we take as regards renting our house to holiday makers. We believe strongly that it is essential that the house will live up to your expectations and believe it or not like to discuss your needs and give a personal service. So goodbye Owners Direct and welcome to our website (gulps ....).  
Please see copy and paste screen grabs and some of our past reviews on Owners Direct - very proud of the 5/5 score !!


Chloe D. said...
17 Feb 2018
Just perfect! A very memorable seaside holiday

Date of Stay
10 Feb 2018


Staying for a week in Henry and Molly’s house by the sea in Dunwich was absolutely blissful. We came in February half term with friends and the house couldn’t have been more stylish, cosy and comfortable. It is such a thoughtfully put together home from the well equipped kitchen, cosy aga, several living rooms with masses of comfortable fireside seating and super comfortable beds. But the setting which is minutes away from the huge empty beach at Dunwich was amazing and every morning we would head to the beach for a walk. Absolutely a five star experience and Henry and Molly were very easy to communicate with.


Richard H. said...
2 Feb 2018
Well equipped property in an idyllic location
Date of Stay
28 Dec 2017

Henry is a superb landlord from the moment you book.The house is exactly as described and is furnished as a home not a holiday let hence quality furnishings and equipment. Walks along the beach or in the countryside start from your front door and you can reward yourself afterwards at either The Ship or the cafe by the church which are both excellent or stay in and cook in a well equipped kitchen having stocked up with the freshest of fish just off the boat. We will be back in summer 


Dawn Norwich

Lovely warm cottage ideally situated.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful homely , obviously loved property. Owners were very friendly and helpful in all aspects .

  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Jenny W.

A Perfect Stay

  • 5 of 5

The Ferns is a truly magical house and we spent five glorious days there at the end of February. From the moment we walked through the front door we felt completely happy and relaxed; the house is wonderfully spacious and filled with such beautiful things. The bed in the master bedroom is certainly one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the ensuite bathroom is a delight. If you're a keen cook, you'll be in your element - the kitchen is incredibly well equipped and looks out over the marshes, which are teeming with birdlife and completely mesmerising. Step outside and you're five minutes walk from the beach and across the road from the pub. Jump into the car and there are any number of brilliant places to explore; we loved the Antiques Centre at Yoxford, the farm shop, Walberswick and Southwold, to name but a few. Henry couldn't have been kinder or more helpful and we certainly plan to go back as soon as we possibly can. Having stayed in many holiday rentals over the years, The Ferns is up there with the best. Can't fault it - a fully deserved 5 star rating on all fronts.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Steven R.

Perfect cottage near pub, beach and country walks

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful, historic cottage in the heart of Dunwich. It is moments from the beach with is great for walks or fishing, opposite a pub that serves great beer and good food, and has easy access to walks through open countryside and woodland. The village is well located for visiting Aldeburgh and Southwold, but best of all for us was the access to the beautiful coastline and countryside. The owners have decorated the cottage beautifully with antique furniture, artwork and objects that all add to the character and comfort of the place. The kitchen is well equipped, and we enjoyed the warmth of the Aga for drying off wet boots after walks. We've stayed in many cottages over the years, this is without doubt one of the best we've found. 

  • Review Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


John M.

A spoonful of Dunwich delightful holiday medicine!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic family holiday for 2 weeks of sunshine (yes unbelievable in the UK). We were a party of 7 including 3 young children and 2 over 70s and there was plenty of space for all. The location is perfect, opposite the pub and next to the beach and there is everything you could possibly want within the gorgeous property. This is definitely a family home rather than a holiday let so everything is lovely. As you would expect in a property of this period there is a spiral staircase and small level differences between some rooms so appropriate consideration for the oldest and youngest in our party was required. The surrounding area is absolutely idyllic and there is plenty to do and see within easy reach of the house either by foot or by car. We must give a special mention to the owner Henry as he really is a first class gent and can’t do enough to help you enjoy your stay. We can report that we quite thoroughly tested his fortitude as we found a wasps nest early in our stay; he diligently had a man around first thing to deal with the little pests. All thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and frequent swimming in the sea; thankfully it was hotter than the med when we visited but caution may be necessary in December! Highly recommend everybody should call Henry and enjoy his fabulous house and Dunwich. Thanks again! 

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Gabrielle H.

A rare find for a family getaway in Suffolk

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 5 (three girls 7, 10, and 13) and stayed for a week at half term in October 2016 and had a really wonderful time. Something for everyone. The house was really cosy and yet also the descriptions of it being 'like are tardis' are very true, lots of space, a bedroom each, 2 receptions rooms, a study and kitchen and dining room. The Aga is lovely (we are used to Aga's so felt very like home) and 3 wood burners meant that there was lots of choice as to where to get cosy in the evening. Big huge TV and Wifi for the teenager and garden as well as walks, the sea and the pub for the rest of us. The kids were able to go off on their own a bit and be a bit independent which was really nice for them and relaxing for us. We had gorgeous weather and enjoyed the views from the house, particularly the friendly pheasants who sat on the fence in the morning and looked at us! We would thoroughly recommend as a great family getaway break in idyllic and historical surroundings, the local museum in Dunwich providing a perfect bit of local fascinating history and a great show and tell for our 7 year old when she got back to school! We would love to return another time.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Thorsten A.

Splendid home and nice owners

  • 5 of 5

Dunwich is a very nice venue, the pebble beach is long and broad, you can walk for miles. Birds reserve nearby worth visiting - inviting to long walks. Museum of Dunwich is fine and interesting. Relaxing holidays should be guaranteed.The house is splendid - well equipped, homely antiques, cosy and relaxing atmosphere. You will feel at home. Pub just vis a vis has good quality food and beer, also the tearoom just a few minutes along the road.The owners are very nice, welcoming and helpful, always ready to advise or help, even via neighbours in case a clueless visitor turned the AGA off ;-)To sum it up: Just perfect! 

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the trouble to review. We love it when people enjoy the village and house as much as we do. Not sure the guests were as clueless as the owners. Hopefully you will be in Dunwich again soon.


Sara L.

Beautiful house in a fabulous location. 

  • 5 of 5

A family gathering which was made extra special by staying in this gorgeous home. Spacious comfortable living areas and good bedrooms with beautiful furnishings and fabrics throughout. With a lovely tranquil garden, the beach just down the road and fantastic walking, we had a great week. We definitely recommend the house and would love to return. 

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

fabulous Ferns - dazzling Dunwich

  • 5 of 5

With six adults and one baby, you never know if someone else's home will be suitable. The Ferns was absolutely perfect. Loads of space inside the house, good sized bedrooms, first chance to use an aga, delightful walks in every direction. And so much to do at the seaside. Morning and evening walks on the beach just a minute away - or you could choose a more windfree stroll past the legendary fish and chip shop along the marshes parallel to the water. We also enjoyed trips to Walberswick and Southwold, relaxing in the garden and visits to the Ship Inn just across the street - an idyllic holiday for us all. The owner, Henry, was really helpful with tips and ideas. And don't miss the Museum in the village. Fascinating to know that this little hamlet was a thriving and powerful city/state in 1250. 

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Dr Jennifer C.

Fantastic stay in Dunwich

  • 5 of 5

Three sisters, a daughter and one husband, enjoyed our short stay in this wonderful property, stepping back in time without having to compromise comfort or 21st century facilities. The listing description is accurate and the photographs give a good impression but nothing really prepared us for the experience of stepping into the atmosphere of the house. Like the 'Tardis' it is far larger than it appears from the outside and inside it is easy to imagine Edward FitzGerald writing and painting here.The sea is only a minute a way, there are walks in all directions and the The Ship opposite is a fine place to eat and drink.The owner has been most attentive and helpful and every aspect of our stay was delightful. I am sure we will be coming again. 

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: Hi Dr Crisp, so pleased that you enjoyed the house as much as we do. Looking forward to you staying again very soon. Apart from anything else need your detective skills to give us some more history on Dunwich and the house. Thanks so much for taking the time to review.


Jane T.

Home from home

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable and felt like "home from home". No ghastly prints, matching crockery, cutlery, bed linen but indivual, stylish and charming. Perfect spot and wonderful walks. Everyone very friendly and welcoming

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

sarah w.

Beautiful warm house, a wonderful retreat

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic house for friends and family, with a really stunning garden and lots of wonderful touches. Everything we could have needed was available, including a muffin tin so we could bake cup cakes (GBBO has a lot to answer for). The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, and the family/reception areas are both numerous and very hospitable. The whole house was spotless, but also full of character. We really loved our stay, and all the helpful suggestions from the owners. Location is really lovey, right by the sea and we had the chance to explore the museum and church, and go for runs in the forest and heath. There are a lot of great pubs near by for food too, especially good was the Crown in Westleton. The Ship opposite is a great place to have breakfast (though slow service so give yourself time!) There are beautiful tea rooms/nursery a short walk up the road, too. Easy to get to lovely Walberswick or Aldeburgh, We would certainly stay here again and would strongly recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: Hi Sarah thanks so much for taking the trouble to post your review. Really heart warming to read and makes us so pleased that you appreciated the house and the area as much as us. Please please come again. Will hide the muffin tin next time ! Best wishes, Henry


Steve S.

Immaculate property in quiet location

  • 5 of 5

Difficult to find any faultSpacious/clean property, extremely well furnished, ideal location.Excellent spot for a relaxing break whatever the weather

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway


Wendy A.

A Truly Special Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

Without doubt one of the most wonderful holiday lets we have had the good fortune to stay in - ever - the Ferns is a VERY special house in a superb location and we simply can't recommend it highly enough.So beautifully & tastefully decorated, the layout works perfectly for a family or small group of people as the house is like a tardis with heaps of space and lots of little nooks & crannies to hang out in. The garden with its hidden outdoor dining area and bountiful fig tree is incredible.Given the super close proximity to the beach (a one min walk if even that) the house makes an ideal summer getaway, however given the gorgeous dining area and fabulous Aga, we can only imagine how lovely and cosy it would be in the winter also.Directly opposite a fantastic pub The Ship, which has a massive beer garden, great food and is very kid/dog friendly.We had never been to Suffolk before but were hugely impressed with the sheer amount there is to see and do in the area, highlights included crabbing in Walberswick, beach time in Southwold and fish and chips in Aldeburgh.Henry the owner couldn't have been more helpful, as was Steve the gardener, in fact everyone we met in the village was hugely friendly, it's a lovely lovely place.All in all we had a very special and memorable week at The Ferns and very much look forward to returning.Wendy & James Aldridge

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: Dear Wendy and James, Could you do all our PR from now on !? Some people reading this could possibly think there is some insider trading going on. Please please come again clearly the house loved having you to stay. Fingers crossed we may have some figs left !! Best wishes to you all, Henry and Molly



FAQs

This web site is newly launched so as yet we don't have any FAQ's